logo automotive
marzo 16, 2017 - Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport

David Coulthard makes the breakthrough

1997: prelude to seven world championship titles

On 9 March 1997, the Scottish #racing driver #davidcoulthard drove to victory at the Australian Grand Prix in a McLaren-Mercedes. It marked the first win for the Silver Arrows since the Stuttgart brand made its #f1 comeback. For at the end of 1955, following two world championship titles for Juan Manuel Fangio, Mercedes-Benz had pulled out of Formula 1 #racing while at the height of its success. 40 years later, it teamed up with McLaren for the 1995 season, and in 2010 Mercedes-Benz finally set up its own Formula 1 team, MERCEDES-AMG PETRONAS. Since the triumph in Australia 20 years ago, the Stuttgart brand has racked up countless victories and its drivers have won the Formula 1 world championship on a total of seven occasions: 1998 and 1999 (Mika Häkkinen), 2008 (Lewis Hamilton), 2009 (Jenson Button), 2014 and 2015 (Lewis Hamilton), as well as 2016 (Nico Rosberg). 

News correlate

febbraio 22, 2021
febbraio 19, 2021
febbraio 18, 2021

La nuova #c41 è stata presentata dal team #alfaromeoracingorlen a Varsavia.La partnership tra Alfa Romeo e Sauber Motorsport va be...

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. Scuderia AlphaTauri has today unveiled its 2021 car – the AT02 – in an all...

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. Hinwil, 18th February 2021 – #alfaromeoracingorlen will be launching its 2...