logo automotive
gennaio 27, 2016 - Geneva Motor Show

The Geneva International Motor Show will host the Car of the Year election at Palexpo for the 5th time

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. 

Held just prior to the two Press Days, the election of the #caroftheyear 2016 will take place for the fifth consecutive year at the opening of the Geneva International Motor Show. The COTY jury will award their final points to the candidates and crown the winner from the seven finalists that have already been selected. The award ceremony, which is reserved for accredited media representatives, will take place in the Congress Centre at Palexpo and can be followed directly on the websites of the Motor Show, www.salon-auto.ch and the #caroftheyear organisation, www.caroftheyear.org

This year promises to be a tough race!  The #caroftheyear jury, composed of 58 journalists from 22 European countries, has already chosen their short-list of seven favourites from a total of 29 models that qualified initially:

  • Audi A4
  • BMW 7 Series
  • Jaguar XE
  • Mazda MX5
  • Opel / Vauxhall Astra
  • Skoda Superb
  • Volvo XC90

These finalists will undergo their last series of tests on 15-16 February, 2016 at the Centre d’Essais et de Recherche Automobile (Automobile Research and Testing Centre) at Mortefontaine in France.

The final selection will be made based on criteria of innovation, design, quality and value for money.  The members of the jury will make their final attribution of 25 points allocated to five of the seven finalists during the election which will take place on Monday, Febr. 29, at 3:00 p.m at Palexpo.

This #event is reserved for media representatives accredited by the Geneva International Motor Show, plus representatives of the exhibitors at the Show. The ceremony can be viewed by the general public directly at the websites of the Motor Show (www.salon-auto.ch) and of the #caroftheyear organization (www.caroftheyear.org), where one can experience the official announcement of the winner in real time!

The #caroftheyear trophy is highly sought after by automobile manufacturers, and with 52 years of selection is the oldest and most prestigious prize of its type awarded in Europe.

This year Ms Rachel Prasher, from the Haymarket publishing group and editor of the English magazine “Autocar”, will succeed Ms Wibke Bruns from the Gruner+Jahr publishing group and editor of the “Stern” magazine as President of the COTY Organising Committee.

Mr. Hakan Matson, President of the Jury and automotive journalist for the Swedish daily economics publication “Dagans Industri”, will conduct the final voting and then award the prize to the happy winner.